Few takers for solar energy tender of railways, bid deadline prolonged, Power Information, ET EnergyWorld

Few takers for solar power tender of railways, bid deadline extended, Energy News, ET EnergyWorld

New Delhi: Developers of solar energy projects have given a lukewarm response to a tender for the construction of 1 gigawatt solar power plants on railway property, as the government agency SECI has 14 GW of excess capacity available.

Three sources from leading solar power developers said the Railway Energy Management Co. Ltd. (REMCL), a joint venture between Indian Railways (49 percent) and RITES Ltd. (51 percent), did not inspire many, which led to several extending the offer period.

The Solar Energy Corp of India (SECI) has an additional / surplus solar capacity of 14 GW which is in operation and in progress at various stages and this should be used by the railways.

SECI, the government agency that offers solar projects, has already discovered a low tariff through competitive bids, and the railways could use it instead of going through another central government agency.

So far, no developer has shown interest in the tender and submitted an offer, it said from the sources.

In April of this year, REMCL published a tender for the construction of a 1 GW solar power plant on land on vacant railway property as part of a tariff-based tender.

Originally, the last date for the submission of the first bids was June 30th, but it was extended several times, until November 25th 2020 at the latest.

The bidders were asked to indicate a tariff that they would charge for electricity generation from solar energy in projects of over 50 MW each.

REMCL was formed to manage Indian Railways’ energy management portfolio, which includes the procurement of commercial electricity through open access and the use of green energy.

It has identified land in West Bengal (125 MW), Chhattisgarh (205 MW), Gujarat (226 MW), Odisha (59 MW), Madhya Pradesh (58 MW), Rajasthan (68 MW), Uttar Pradesh (20 MW). Haryana (19 MW), Assam (14 MW), Maharashtra (92 MW), Karnataka (20 MW), Jharkhand (13 MW), Telangana (7 MW) and Andhra Pradesh (18 MW).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here